Touro University Nevada College of Osteopathic Medicine Well Represented at Nevada State Medical Association’s Annual Conference

The Touro University Nevada College of Osteopathic Medicine (TUNCOM) was well represented at the Nevada State Medical Association’s (NSMA) annual conference in Reno in mid-September.

Nearly 20 TUNCOM students presented research posters during the weekend-long conference, four of whom were recognized for their outstanding presentations.

Student doctors Sarah Fagan and Lauren Price took first place for their presentation titled “Investigating the Relationship Between Opioid Prescription Frequency and Deaths From Illicit Opioids.” The two second-year students worked with Dr. Joe Hardy, Associate Dean of Clinical Education, on the research.

“Having our project recognized by physicians in the state of Nevada is so important to us because we believe physicians can make major impacts on the climate surrounding opioids and addiction,” Price said. “This win gives will definitely help us power through our next project. Many thanks to NSMA and Touro faculty.”

Student doctors Matthew Shoemaker and Savannah Spataro took home third place for their research project titled “Nevada Physician Workforce Shortage and the Inefficient Retention of Nevada Medical School Graduates,” also worked with Dr. Hardy as their faculty advisor.

Dr. Weldon Havins, Associate Dean of Initiatives in TUNCOM, was also recognized with the NSMA’s “Distinguished Physician” Award during the gala portion of the event for his outstanding achievements in the medical field.

“There is no greater gratification, professionally, than being recognized by your peers with the highest award in organized medicine, the Distinguish Physician of the Year,” he said. “I’m also incredibly proud of our students for being well represented during this year’s conference.  This was an unprecedented, successful recognition of the excellent quality of meaningful research by TUNCOM students.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *