Dr. Cynthia Lau Inducted into American Occupational Therapy Association’s Roster of Fellows

Dr. Cynthia Lau, Professor in the School of Occupational Therapy, was honored by the American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) with a Roster of Fellows Award, a significant achievement in the occupational therapy field.

Throughout her career as an occupational therapist, Dr. Lau has served the community, state, and national occupational associations in various capacities.

As part of her work with the Nevada Occupational Therapy Association (NOTA), she recruited key members to the state board, most of whom were Touro Nevada alumni. Together, they helped modernize the association’s website, developed a more substantial social media presence, established key partnerships with hospitals and clinics throughout the city, and successfully hosted small and large continuing educational programming on an ongoing basis.

After fulfilling her term as co-Vice President of the NOTA, Dr. Lau now serves as the Nevada Representative for AOTA.

“This award would not have been possible at all without my time teaching at Touro University Nevada,” she said. “In every cohort of OT students, there is exciting potential of those who will be business owners, leaders, advocates, educators, and innovators. I have the privilege of seeing our students fulfill these roles in the community, and I envision some of them becoming remarkable leaders in the profession for years to come. Witnessing the growth and potential of Touro’s OT students has definitely been the highlight of this remarkable professional journey in being inducted into AOTA’s Roster of Fellows.”

Dr. Robyn Otty, Director of the School of Occupational Therapy, nominated Dr. Lau for her Fellow Award.

“The national acknowledgement from the AOTA is an honor reserved for practitioners who have significantly contributed to the association and profession,” she said. “We are extremely proud of Dr. Lau’s Fellow Award and recognition for her efforts that benefit all Nevada occupational therapy practitioners.”